I’m a Big Boy Now and Green Headed Monsters

Yes, that is Ike on the trailer again after self-loading!  I’m still shocked and amazed, but absolutely thrilled that Mr. Revelle helped us through our issues.  Today there were distractions of the neighbor’s children playing in the woods, the wicked green headed flies, and Mr. D mowing the lawn, so it was a test of our ability to focus on the task at hand.  I’d say we passed with flying colors.  So my “little” man is growing up and growing more confident.  What will he be able to accomplish next?  I can’t wait to find out.

And let me just take a moment to tell you how much I hate the green headed flies.  They are evil harbingers of summer.  I think they are immune to fly spray and are wicked fast when you swat at them.  Mutants that need annihilation.  They know exactly where to bother the horses for maximum discomfort.  I have been attacked by them and develop large, itchy, painful welts that last for days.  Most likely the only pesticide that would work on them has been banned by the EPA before even being placed on the market for fear that it would cause vast environmental damage.  I despise them.

[And now back to our regularly scheduled post.]

The only way to avoid the little green monsters was to move, so we did.  Ike was fantastic under saddle.  Neither shoulder decided to be dominant today, so we were very balanced in most of our work.  Ike even showed some stretch down in his trot circle.  There were no witnesses, so you will just have to take my word for it.  Practiced the Training Level Test 1 canter movements.  Feeling confident after today’s ride, but I know it might not be there when we debut it at a show.  The canter transitions are getting more balanced and less rushed.  Happy, happy, joy, joy.  The boy is going to have a nice canter.

The farrier comes this week for Ike’s pedicure and I’ve downloaded an entry form for a schooling show in early June.  Yes, we are going to try and head out into the world again.  Stay tuned…

Leave a Reply

